10th August 2017

Presentation of Participant Lapel Pins for the XXXI Olympic Games Rio 2016

Dato’ Sri Mohamad Norza Zakaria, Deputy President of the Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) and President of the Badminton Association of Malaysia (BAM) presented the Participant Lapel Pins to eight (8) Badminton players who participated in the XXXI Olympic Games Rio 2016 on Thursday, 10 August 2017, at the Akademi Badminton Malaysia, Bukit Kiara.

The Participant Lapel Pin is a form of recognition by the IOC for athletes who had qualified and competed in any Olympic Games. Each athlete will be awarded a special lapel pin which is registered with an unique serial number. The IOC required all NOCs concerned to present the lapel pins to the athletes on a suitable occasion to recognise their achievement.

The athletes who received the lapel pins recognition are as follows:
1. Datuk Wira Lee Chong Wei – Men’s Single (Silver Medallist)
2. Ms. Tee Jing Yi – Women’s Singles
3. Mr. Goh V Shem & Mr. Tan Wee Kiong – Men’s Doubles (Silver Medallist)
4. Ms. Vivion Hoo & Ms. Woon Khe Wei – Women’s Doubles
5. Mr. Chan Peng Soon & Ms. Goh Liu Ying – Mixed Doubles (Silver Medallist)

In attendance at the presentation ceremony were office bearers of BAM, coaches and administration officials, national Badminton players of both senior and junior teams, representative from OCM and journalists from all print and electronic media.