11th August 2017



The Flag Handing Ceremony for Malaysian Contingent to the 29th SEA Games Kuala Lumpur 2017 was held on Thursday, 10 August 2017, at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre and was officiated by YAB Dato’ Sri Mohd Najib Tun Abdul Razak, Prime Minister of Malaysia.

The VVIPs in attendance at the Ceremony were YABhg Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi (former Prime Minister of Malaysia), YABhg Tun Jeanne Abdullah (Patron of the Malaysian Paralympic Council, MPC), YB Brig Gen Khairy Jamaluddin (Minister of Youth and Sports Malaysia), YB Dato’ M. Saravanan (Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports Malaysia), YAM Tunku Tan Sri Imran ibni Almarhum Tuanku Ja’afar (President of OCM) and Mr. SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin (President of MPC).

The Members of OCM Executive Board in attendance at the Ceremony were Dato’ Sri Mohamad Norza Zakaria (Deputy President), Dato’ Paduka Mumtaz Jaffar (Vice President), Dato’ Mohd Nazifuddin Dato’ Sri Mohd Najib (Vice President), YB Senator Datuk Megat Zulkarnain Tan Sri Omardin (Vice President), Dato’ Low Beng Choo (Secretary General), Ms. Moira Tan (Assistant Secretary General) and Mr. Wong Jee Seng (Acting Assistant Treasurer).

The Prime Minister pledged the support on behalf of over 30 million Malaysian to all the athletes who will be competing in the 29th SEA Games scheduled for 19 to 30 August 2017. He then handed the Jalur Gemilang (national flag) to Datuk Marina Chin, the Chef de Mission of Malaysian Contingent. The 3 Malaysian World Champions comprising of Mr. Mohd Al-Jufferi Jamari (Silat), Mr. Mohd Azizulhasni Awang (Cycling) and Ms. Cheong Jun Hoong (Diving) have been selected to be the Flag Bearers at the Opening Ceremony on Saturday, 19 August 2017 at the National Stadium Bukit Jalil.