Category: Official
Sport: Athletics
Year Inducted: 2012

Vaithilingam son of Ampalavanar born on 4th May 1934. He resumed schooling late 1945 and was educated in King George V School Seremban and Victoria Institution Kuala Lumpur.

As a school teacher from the year 1954, he was very much involved in Sports Administration and he started off in a big way in 1957 at the age of 23 when he was made the first Organizing Secretary of the 1st ever National Interschool Football Competition for students under 13 years of age to celebrate the attaining of the nation;s independence in that year. FAM later appointed him as a Deputy Camp Commandant for all International Football Tournaments held in Kuala Lumpur from 1959 to 1973.

Since 1958 he served in various committees of the Selangor School Sport Council. He then served the Malaysian School Sport Council, popularly known as MSSM in many capacities which included National Technical Chariman for Athletics, Founder member and national representative in ASEAN School Sports Council.

At the national level, he served the National Amateur Athletic Association (SAAA) in various capacities from 1958 – 1999 which included posts as EXCO Member, Vice President and finally as Deputy President. He played a leading role in development plans covering all the districts. He also served in the Malaysian Amatuer Athletics Union (MAAU) from 1962 till 1998 where he also functioned as the Chairman of the numerous committees, and as the succesful Secretary of MAAU’s Five Year Development Plan.

He had also organized several coaching courses for athletics coaches in the country. He lead several athletics team for international competitions which included SEA Games, Asian Meets and other international competitions. He was a National Chairman of The Race Walking Committee from 1971 till 1995 and popularised Race Walking in Malaysia in the 70s and 80s.

He was also well known for introducing and encouraging the development and revival of sports like Gymnastics. Taekwondo, Squash, in Selangor schools and then into the nation’s sport environment. He has the unique honour of introducing RHYTHMIC GYMNASTICS (GIMRAMA) together with Mrs Khaw first in MSS Selangor in late 70s and made it official competition in MSSM followed by MGF. Since then, the national rhythmic gymnastics has brought glory to the nation by winning gold medals in SEA Games and Commonwelth Games.

In the Olympic Council of Malaysia, he has been a Council Member during his term as senior official of Malaysian Gymnastics Federation and later as Softball Association Malaysia. He attended numerous Council Meetings as a representative of the MSSM.

It must be noted that Datuk A Vaithilingam has been very active in serving the community in many different ways. Though he has retired from active duty in 2009, he is still helping the community in various activities sepecially in advisory role.

Achievement :

  1. As Official
    • 1958- 1959
      • Selangor Amatuer Athletics Association (SAAA)
        • EXCO Member
        • Vice President
        • President
    • 1959 – 1973
      • International Football Tournaments – Deputy Camp Commandant
      • Selangor Sports School Council – Secretary General
      • Malaysian School Sports Council – National Technical Chairman


      • ASEAN School Sports Council – Founder Member & National  Representative


      • Malaysian School Sports Council – National Technical Chairman


      • MSSM – vice Chairman of Technical Committee


    • 1962 – 1998
      • Malaysia Amatuer Athletics Union (MAAU)
        • Secretary (1968 – 1973)
        • Chairman of Numerous committee
    • 1971 – 1995
      • Race Walking Committee
        • National Chairman
    • 1977 – 2006
      • Selangor Sports Council
        • Founder member
        • Technical Committee
        • Chairman
      • Selangor Amateur Gymnastic Association
        • President
      • Malaysia Gymnastic Federation
        • Vice President
      • Softball Association Selangor
        • Deputy President

Awards :

  • 1979 – Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (P.J.K)
  • 1980 – Ahli Mangku Negara (A.M.N)
  • 1989 – Ahli Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah (A.S.A)
  • 1998 – Sultan Salahudin Aziz Shah (S.S.A)
  • 2003 – Panglima Jasa Negara (P.J.N)