The Hon. Datuk Setia Raja Tan Sri Datuk Seri Hamzah bin Haji Abu Samah was awarded the trophy for his dedicated service to the council and contribution towards the development of sports and the Olympic Movement in Malaysia. In 1978, Tan Sri Hamzah became the first Malaysian to be made an IOC Member. He also served IOC’s Juridical, Cultural and Eligibility Commissions from 1984-1990. He is a past President of the Asian Football Confederation, FIFA, past Senior Vice-President of OCA and Hon. President of the SEA Games Federation. He served as the fourth President of OCM for 22 years.