Sport: Cycling
Category: Athlete
Year Inducted: 2017

Mr. Ng Joo Poong and Mr. Hector are the last two surviving members of the seven men cycling team that won gold medals in the 1,600m Team Time Trial and the 4,000m Team Pursuit at the Asian Cyling Championships held at Merdeka Stadium on 7th June 1963. They were the first Malaysian Track Cycling team to win gold medasl when they were only 16 years old schoolboys. Both of them are the pioneers of Malaysian Track Cycling in the early 60s, when without a velodrom, they fought hard against and competed without any fear against the Japanese, Thais, Indonesians and Philippines cyclists, who all had velodrom in their countries.In Addition, Ng Joon Pong won 3 silver medas and 1 bronze medal at the SEAP Games 1965 and 2 bronze medals at SEAP Games 1967. He also won a bronze medal in the 10,000m Massed Start Individual event at the Bangkok Asian Games 1970.